New Articles
  December 17th, 2021 | Written by

Terrific Honorifics: Notable Names Recognized for Excellence

[shareaholic app="share_buttons" id="13106399"]

The Maritime Association of the Port of New York and New Jersey inducted into its International Maritime Hall of Fame:

Lisa Lutoff-Perlo, president and CEO, Celebrity Cruises Inc.;

James R. Mara, president emeritus, Metropolitan Marine Maintenance Contractors’ Association;

James I. Newsome III, president and CEO, South Carolina Ports Authority;

Nikolas P. Tsakos, president and CEO, Tsakos Energy Navigation Corp.;

and Lois K. Zabrocky, president, CEO and director, International Seaways Inc. 

The American Logistics Aid Network (ALAN) 2021 Humanitarian Logistics Awards winners for Outstanding Contribution to Disaster Relief are:

CEVA Logistics, Palmer Logistics, Core-Mark International, J.B. Hunt Transport Services and the American Trucking Associations

Tucker Company Worldwide and received ALAN’s Director’s Partnership Award, and Dr. José Holguín-Veras of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Dr. Hossein Zarei of Coventry University were bestowed Research and Academic Contributions awards. And students and staff from the W.P. Carrey School of Business at Arizona State University, the University of Tennessee-Knoxville and the University of Wisconsin-Madison received ALAN’s Student Engagement Award. 

The Port of Long Beach collected the most awards from the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) for 13 outstanding communications campaigns that were adapted or designed to meet the unique challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. The haul included nine AAPA Awards of Excellence, the equivalent of first-place trophies. Also winning multiple AAPA awards was the Port of Vancouver USA for its 2020 digital holiday card, virtual port tour video program and Overall Communications Excellence. 

C.H. Robinson 2021 Carrier of the Year winners include:

Berber Trucking, Tranquility, California;

Blunt Enterprise LLC, Mansfield, Missouri;

Daily Express, Inc., Carlisle, Pennsylvania;

Dayton Freight Lines, Inc., Dayton, Ohio;

Dieselgrid, Savannah, Georgia;

Freeport Logistics, Inc., Phoenix, Arizona;

Gabriela Transport Services, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada;

J&R Schugel Trucking, Inc., New Ulm, Minnesota;

Millwood Trucking Inc., Nashville, Arkansas;

Nathan’s Trucking, New Berlin, Wisconsin;

Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc., Thomasville, North Carolina;

Rented Mule Express LLC, Chatsworth, Georgia;

Road Hogg Transport LLC, Hilliard, Ohio;

Seneca Foods Eastern Fleet, Geneva, New York;

Seneca Foods Western Fleet, Payette, Idaho;

Skyway Express, Inc., Chicago, Illinois;

and Timmons Transit, Inc., Jonesboro, Arkansas. 

For six years, Kenworth Truck Co., FASTPORT Trucking Track Mentoring Program and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Hiring Our Heroes Program have teamed up to recognize America’s top rookie military veteran drivers.

The top finalists for the Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence 2021 honor to be announced on Dec. 17 are:

Jimmy Reddell/U.S. Army, Army Reserves/Stevens Transport;

James Rose/U.S. Marines/PRIME Inc.;

and Christopher Slindee/U.S. Army/Knight Transportation.

The United Seamen’s Service 52nd annual Admiral of the Ocean Sea Award will be presented in New York this Dec. 3 to:

Kathy Metcalf, president and CEO of the Chamber of Shipping of America;

William Woodhour, president and CEO of Maersk Line, Ltd.;

and David Heindel, secretary-treasurer of the Seafarers International Union of North America, AFL-CIO and chairman of the International Transport Workers’ Federation’s Seafarers’ Section, representing 1.2 million seafarers worldwide. 

The Export-Import Bank of the United States (EXIM) named Impello Global Insurance Services LLC the 2021 New Broker of the Year. Headquartered in Seattle, Impello Global is a relatively new specialty trade-credit and political risk-insurance brokerage firm that provides EXIM’s short- and medium-term export credit insurance, as well as assistance with EXIM’s long-term financing, for the West and Mountain regions of the country. In receiving the same award, Meridian Financial of Los Angeles became the second firm to get the honor for the fourth time.